By Neena Vlamis, President of A and N Mortgage

FHA loan ratesFHA (Federal Housing Authority) loans on single and multi-unit properties are designed for borrowers who are unable to make large down payments. Instead of the traditional 20% down payment required by banks, FHA loans only require a 3.5% down payment which helps make the dream of home ownership a reality for a larger population. The FHA does not lend money to homeowners. Instead, the FHA insures qualified loans made by private lending institutions.

FHA loans help first-time homebuyers purchase a single-family home and helps first-time real estate investors purchase a duplex, three-plex, or four-plex property where they can live in one unit and rent the other units. With an FHA-backed mortgage, buying a multi-unit property can be a smart financial move, because you will be able to pay off your mortgage with drastically lower payments and build equity much faster.

If you live outside of Illinois, visit National FHA Loan Limits to calculate the FHA mortgage loan limits for the area where you are considering purchasing a single-family house or a multi-unit (up to 5 units) property.

Illinois FHA Mortgage Lending Limits by County
The lending limits for FHA mortgages vary by county and are based on a variety of housing types and the cost of local housing.

Out of all 102 counties in Illinois, 91 counties have these FHA lending limits:

Single Family $294,515
Duplex $377,075
Three-Plex $455,800
Four-Plex $566,425

The 91 counties are: Adams, Alexander, Bond, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Kankakee, Knox, LaSalle, Lawrence, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Massac, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, Richland, Rock Island, Saline, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Union, Vermilion, Wabash, Warren, Washington, Wayne, White, Whiteside, Williamson, Woodford


Two Illinois counties have these FHA lending limits:

Single Family $339,250
Duplex $434,300
Three-Plex $524,950
Four-Plex $652,400

Boone County, Winnebago County,


Nine Illinois counties have these FHA lending limits:

Single Family $365,700
Duplex $468,150
Three-Plex $565,900
Four-Plex $703,250

Cook County, Dekalb County, DuPage County, Grundy County, Kane County, Kendall County, Lake County, McHenry County, and Will County

Visit Illinois FHA Mortgage Lending Limits, for a complete alphabetical listing of FHA mortgage lending limits by county in Illinois.

A and N Mortgage Services Inc, a mortgage broker in Chicago, IL provides you with high-quality home loan programs, including FHA home loans, tailored to fit your unique situation with some of the most competitive rates in the nation. Whether you are a first-time homebuyer, relocating to a new job, or buying an investment property, our expert team will help you use your new mortgage as a smart financial tool.


This entry was posted in FAQs, FHA, FHA Loan, Home Page Blog, Tips and Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.